Introduced in 2019, the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot Program (RNIP) is an initiative by the federal government to bring immigrants to lesser-populated areas of the country. The RNIP, modelled after the successful Atlantic Immigration Program, currently includes 11 rural communities and invites up to 2,750 immigrants annually.

The following communities participate in the program

Where are the communities located?

Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot Program: Stages of Immigration

Stage 1: Receiving a job offer

Each community posts job openings in the local labour market. You can submit your application if your qualifications align with the employer’s needs. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) requires the job offer to be full-time (30 hours or more per week) and permanent, offering more than the minimum wage in that occupation. In addition, applicants must prove that they meet the qualifications required for the job.

Stage 2: Obtaining a community recommendation

Since the program’s goal is to attract immigrants to the northern and rural areas of the country, you must demonstrate your intention to live in the chosen community. Having a job and other connections with the community will allow you to receive a recommendation from one of the communities participating in the pilot.

Stage 3: Applying for permanent residence (PR)

Upon receiving a community recommendation, you can submit your complete application for permanent residency in Canada, along with the necessary documents. You will also need to pay an application processing fee and the fee for the right of permanent residence (you can choose to pay this at the final stage).

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram! Immigration Canada Pro is the most informed immigration company!